Osinbajo release N1.6bn relief for flood victims.

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo, has directed the Ministry of Finance to immediately release of the sum of N1.6bn as support to the sixteen states affected by flood.

He gave the directive at Wednesday’s meeting of the Federal Executive Council, which he presided over.

The move, according to Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina, is to help cushion the effects of the disaster on Nigerians.

Adesina, who spoke while briefing State House correspondents shortly after the meeting said the money would be taken from the Federal Government’s Ecological Account in the Central Bank of Nigeria.

“The Minister of Finance, Mrs Kemi Adeosun was directed to release the money direct to the National Emergency Management Agency NEMA for onward distribution to the affected states,” he said.

Mr Adesina listed the affected States to include Ekiti, Osun, Akwa Ibom, Kebbi, Niger, Kwara, Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia, Oyo, Lagos, Plateau, Sokoto, Edo, and Bayelsa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *